Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Showing posts with label Holiday. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Holiday. Show all posts

Thursday, December 8, 2011

Cherry Cream Pie

Cherry Cream Pie
1 can tart cherries – drained
3 eggs – beaten to lemon color
3 c. sugar
1 large can evap. Milk
1 t. vanilla
Pinch of salt

Pour in unbaked pie shells  (2 - 8" shells)
Bake @ 425 for 15 min. then 300 until done (45 min – 1 hr.)
Refrigerate.
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was delish!!!!

Thursday, May 26, 2011

Strawberry Cookie Tarts

Found this Recipe over at Me and My Pink Mixer.  If you've never checked out Mrs. Pink Mixer and her blog, you should, so adorable :)  Making this for our 4th of July cookout!! Really excited about the 4th in case you can't tell... planning foods to make for July in May, I have issues I know.

Strawberry Cookie Tarts
recipe from Joy's Hope

2  packages of Pillsbury Refrigerated Ready to Bake Sugar Cookies
1 tub (8 oz) Philadelpia Whipped Cream Cheese
1 tub (8 oz.) Cool Whip
1/4 cup sugar
Fresh Strawberries

Spray mini muffin tin with cooking spray.  Place one Ready to Bake Sugar Cookie in each tin.
Bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 minutes or until lightly browned.  Remove from oven and use a Pampered Chef  Mini Tart Shaper to press them into tart shapes.  Let them cool a few minutes before you remove them from the pan to a wire rack.  I run a plastic knife gently around the tarts to help remove them from the pan. While the cookie tarts are cooling make the filling.

Combine whipped cream cheese, cool whip and sugar.  Mix with electric mixer until fluffy.  
Put filling in a pastry bag with tip and pipe into each cookie tart.  Top with a strawberry or other fresh fruit. 
Makes 48 cookie tarts.

ENJOY!!

Monday, May 9, 2011

Love of a Mother

As this year's Mother's Day came and went so quickly, my brain can't help but think of the LOVE of a MOTHER.  And as usual, I put my ramblings here.  On my blog.  My online journey.  Random Ramblings, my thoughts. Not usually many facts, just randomness.
I think of the overwhelming love that I have for my children (my Wyndham and my Paisley-still growing in my belly, kicking my bladder thank you very much).  And I think of my mother and the love that I have for her and the Love that she has for her 4 girls.  You love your mother, you always do and you can't remember a time where you didn't, you just do from birth (oh believe me I went through my teenage rebellion years but I always loved her).  Your baby knows your smell and your voice and he or she knows this before he or she is even out of your womb- how crazy is that?!  The moment I held Wyndham for the first time, I could calm her within minutes, she knew my voice and my smell.  Even at just a few days old she could tell when I would hold her vrs when someone else would.  Before I had Wyndham people would try to explain the love of a mother to me, and I thought I understood it, seeing as I have a mother and I had a baby in my belly and loved her already, and I loved my neices and nephew so much.  But the moment you lay eyes on that baby and you hold her (or him) it is an instantaneous, unexplainable, crazy, crazy love.  A love that I truly canNOT describe. You instantly know that you would give that being your last breathe, your every dollar and would fight like a lioness would for her (or "a momma bear" -as Ryan calls it- and it has come out in me a couple times, ok maybe more than a couple.  I am protective whatev, Ryan finds it oh so humorous, but no big deal, i don't care!).  And this love that you have for this child is shared between you and your husband. I loved Ryan so so much before we had Wyndham, I couldn't imagine loving him anymore, but having this child brings you to a whole other level that you didn't know existed in your relationship, and you love the father/mother of your child even more.
Ryan said after I delivered Wyndham that I was so strong, I was his hero.  To me it was no heroic act, it's what Mommas do, they carry their growing baby around for 9 months then squeeze a baby out of WHAT?! then keep going- do big deal (and for those of you who have not had children, don't listen to all the horror stories people want to tell you, it will probably be the most painful thing you do -that is true- but even so it's totally do-able, not that bad and totally worth it! you get a sweet sweet prize at the end.  It all goes back to normal and if it was so bad I would not be doing this again in less then a 20 month span?!?!  I think not, I'm a wimp).  And sweet Ryan/Daddy is our prince in shining armor everyday.  The way Wyndham lights up when he walks in the door in indescribable, so priceless.  As a mother, you love your husband more for the way he loves your child.
I'm reminded of mother's past.  Ryan's grandmothers (Wonda Lee and Maryanne), and the love that they had for their kids and their children/grandchildren's adoration of them years and years after their passing.  My Mother's mother, Erma, she was a beautiful and gentle woman.  A funny woman with a language all her-which I still tend to use to this day.   I love the way Ryan still thinks about often and misses his Nan.  Although he was only around 5 or so when she passed, she left a large and lasting impression on him.  And Wonda Lee-- I love that I wear her diamond everyday, not just b/c it is a beautiful and a perfect emerald cut diamond, but because it was hers.  I wish I could have met her, but in a strange way I feel like I have.  People who knew Wonda say that there is no mistaking Debbie (my mother in law) as her daughter, and the stories I hear of her make me think I knew her.
For some reason when you become a mother you instantly grow this huge sense of empathy and sympathy.  When another mother is hurting for her child you can relate.  To see your child hurting, in any way -emotionally, phsyically anything is beyond horrible- you would take that pain on in a moment and times a thousand to not have your child hurting.  When Wyndham has been sick it breaks my heart, I'd rather be sick a ten times worse than have her hurting.  When a friend, sister, co-worker is crying for their child you cry too, not much of an option there for me.  No one cries alone in my presence....And when you become a mother you have a new appreciation for your mother and the mother of your spouse, you just get a glimpse of what its like in someone else's shoes for a minute.
And speaking of Momma Bears, I can recall quite a few instances where my own mom turned into a quite a Lioness!  Guess I learned from the pro!  She has even done so for her Grandkids when needed now. Bless her heart, she will not allow anything to her little chitlins. 
For those of you who know my mother, she is a hysterical woman.  So spunky and sassy and is not afraid to laugh at herself or be herself. I remember growing up saying soooo  many times "mom you can't say that to people" and she would respond with "well I just did".  She loves deeply and has a great sense of humor and is one of those people that really doesn't care much about what people thing.  She doesn't always make a great first impression becasue first thing she does to EVERYONE is give them a good look from head to toe, then and only then will she say hello- pretty hysterical to watch, especially when you know its coming.  I warned Ryan of this before their first encounter and without fail, she did it.  But once people get to know her they see the woman there underneath that is giving, sensitive, nurturing, protective and OOOHH so hysterical!  There are a lot of things that all of us are not, and I try to love her for all the things that she is, because there are so many great "is's" there -- a phrase rendered by my mother in law- the Debster- that I have clung to :) :)  "Love people for what they are, not what they are not"

And I think of other figures in my life that "mothered' me in some way or another. I'm a firm believer that God puts people in your life for specific reasons. That he puts different women in your life from time to time to "mother" you in a way that he sees fit for that season of your life.  I am thankful to those woman that have helped to shape me into who/what I am today, along with my own mother. 
Thinking of this immense and wonderful love makes me eager to meet the new one on the way as I know my heart will grow and I will love her like I love my sweet Wyndham.  I already love Paisley so much in my womb and I can't wait for Wyndham and "Daddy" to know her how I do right now. To feel life inside of me, to feel her kicking and moving is the most amazing miracle and such a blessing. I love so much that I was blessed enough to carry children, to be a mother and to have a mother in my life, as there are some in my life whose mother was sadly taken far too early.

And now some motherly pictures that I have available (:










 Hope everyone had a wonderful Mother's Day!!!
xoxo

Monday, April 25, 2011

Wyndham's Diary- My First Easter

Hello Everyone, Wyndham here.  Yesterday was my first Easter (well technically my 2nd, but being only a few weeks old last yr I slept my way through it-- so this is my first REAL Easter).  Proof:

It was a legit Easter.  Easter Bunny came, brought me some goodies, best of all some PUFFS in an EGG!! OMG, whoever tipped the bunny off to get me some of those, BIG THANKS!! Momma really thought I'd like the jammies, but come on, i'm only 15 months duh!  I did however enjoy my new kicks!  Who doesn't like a good pair of running shoes, and I have got a LOT of running to do!  Anywho, had fun ripping through the basket!








I wore a really cute dress for Easter, Mommy was so excited about the new floral dress however I messed that outfit BIG TIME!  Got out of that photo shoot haha!  Sorry now pics of that ladies & gents!  Nonetheless there was a photoshoot on Easter, I knew I should have never donned the Bunny Ears, BIG MISTAKE!  Well I guess if Aunt Jod wore them while she cooked Carrot Cake Cookies and Daddy did while he dyed eggs, its not so bad...






Also, we died Easter Eggs!  Needless to say I was very good at it.  I even ate some crayons, isn't that part of the process?!? It was a classy dye sported in some wine glasses.  Oh and we ate cookies, soo good!!






 Mommy said this one was her favorite, probably because I made it.  That and its obvious beauty!


A few updates on my life:
I've now added several new words to my vocabulary, some of which are Mimi (Grandmother), book, star, peas (please), all done, hi, bye, baby and sissy. 

I also do sign language, yes genius, I KNOW!  I sign: all done, please, more, food, thank you (which I get very confused with blowing kisses, but really, can you ever have too many kisses?  I think not).  Oh and I wave Bye-Bye, but I've kinda been doing that for a while, not new news people. 

Also, I run now.  Not just like walk fast people, but like totally put my head down and go!  Most of the time I run into stuff b/c I'm going so fast, or maybe b/c my head is down and I'm not looking.  Hence the need for the new Nikes, thanks again Bunny!

Also, I really like necklaces!  Any necklace I can get my hands on goes on!  My current fave to don is a bright shinny green "Happy St. Patrick's Day" necklace.  I like the long ones that sway when I walk, only issues with that is I tend to watch them sway a little to much while walking and I run into stuff. 
Mom and Dad find it amusing, IT'S NOT.

Additionally, I'm getting a little sister.  Here name is Paisley, but I call her sissy.  All I know is Mommy's belly is sure getting fat!  Obviously she doesn't run as much as me, maybe she needs some new Nikes like me to keep trim , hmmm...

Hope you all had a wonderful and blessed Easter!  He is Risen :)
XOXOXO
Wyndham

P.S. For those wondering, I'm feeling much better!  I'm kicking pneumonia's butt!  Had me down and out of commission for short while, but I'm tough and on meds and fever free for 2 days!  Can't nobody hold me down, oh-no, I got to keep on movin!   (Inspiration courtesy of Mase & P-diddy)

Tuesday, February 15, 2011

Hello! Will you be my Valentine?! Love, The Princess

Ummm, hello??

Will you be my Valentine?

Why hello!  Happy Valentine's Day.  Please all hale to the Princess, see the crown?  Yes please raise your hand as I am doing.  Thank you.

 hahah!

   Need to go get dressed, can't spend all of Valentine's Day in a towel people!!


Ry and I celebrated Valentine's Day by dining at Maggiano's, and it was beyond AMAZING!  I love their fresh bruschetta!!  Then I made my own version of homemade Reeses' Lollipops.  Ryan was a big fan, as was Wyndham's teacher :) :)
 wore my new Lucky TALL TALL boots, express blazer, skinny jeans, and a Red/Black hounds tooth made by me!!  And Ryan was just plain handsome in his jeans, driving mocks and blazer.  He is my Forever Valentine  <3 
 dessert:

 almost gone, we've got issues.  It's called I'm pregnant and eating WAYY too much.  sad, but true.

Hope you had a wonderful Valentine's Day!! This is how we celebrated ours :) :) 


Thursday, January 6, 2011

2010 in Review

2010 went so amazingly fast, I didn't know that was possible!  Here are some highlights from 2010:

Rang in 2010 huge as can be and anxiously awaiting Wyndham's late arrival with some fellow pregger friends. Man I was HUGE as a HOUSE!




















Wyndham Lee's big deput into our world on Jan 11th, 2010.  Clearly the HIGHLIGHT of our YEAR!!




Wyndham and Mommy go to Florida for her first beach experience:



My BFF Jodi moved HERE!! {ultimately making her my real life model for all sewing projects}

Family Trip to New Jersey.


  
Ran my first 1/2 marathon and complete in 2 hrs and 45 min (beating my goal by 15 minutes).

Romantic weekend at Fall Creek Falls just me and the hubs to celebrate our 3 yr anniversary :)



Spiritual Growth through fellowship in my Girls Small Group that I LOVE and so desperately need and through serving in a prison ministry that has really gotten me out of my comfort zone on many occasions and is continueing to help me learn and grow and serve.
Walked for a Cause in the 2010 American Heart Walk.
 

Made my female friends bake pies while the men judged and rocked some amazing staches at the 2010 Pie Bake Off.
 

Cooked my 1st Thanksgiving Dinner Successfully (meaning I didn't burn the house down)
 
Found out we were expecting again! Double Trouble!
Spent Christmas in Florida with my family, it was AMAZING and not nearly long enough.  Saw good friends and spent lots of time with family.  While there announced that Wyndham would be a big sister come July!





Experienced a million of Wyndham's firsts in 2010, including, first smile, first tooth, first crawl, first word (baba, dada, followed my mama-- I see where I am on the list on priorities, at least I made it in the top 3!!)


For 2011 I'm looking forward to so many things.  First thing on the list is Wyndham's 1st Birthday Party just around the corner.  I am oh so excited about her birthday and I am determined to not let her birthday ever blur into Christmas.  She will forever know how special she and her birth aret to Ryan and I.  Another thing to look forward to is finding out the sex of baby #2 and they baby's arrival come July.  As well as three other baby's joining my life, baby Mason due in Feb, a Monaghan cousin due right after our Monaghan baby is due and Baby Girl Bennett Rose due late April.  Also looking forward to lots of family visiting this summer, as does normally happen after you birth a child, one more perk of making a human being ; )  An exciting year ahead!  So much greatness!


I'm setting some goals for myself for 2011:
Be a better Mother, Wife, Daughter, Sister and Friend.
Call people more and not just say that I need to-- it means the world to me when people think of me, or check in on me and don't just call because they need something.
Become a better at sewing/crafter.
Be healthier- exercise and eat healthy, loosing weight is obviously not an option right now ;)
Be more genuine.
Be nicer to strangers.
Work on taking my true friendships to a deeper level.
Work on my patience, or lack there of as Ryan would say.
Be thriftier.
Tell my husband how great he is more often and all the things he does right (b/c Lord knows I'm good at pointing out faults and he truly is my PERFECT match!!) I love him for who he is, not for who he is not.
Master the art of being a mother of two, and do it well!!
Love my children to the height, depth and width my sould can reach, teach them confidence, to love the Lord above all things and to love one another deeply.
Spend more time reading my Bible.
Have less fears and stress in 2011!


Oh my goodness that is a lot, but really I've got a lot of improving to do and really I want to be a better person and servant of our Great and Awesome Lord!